Meeting Zuze

Amy Christian, Inhouse story-gatherer, writes about an inspiring trip to Malawi – and meeting someone she’ll never forget.

mailpackLast summer I travelled with a team to Malawi to visit a tomato project in Blantyre. Whilst there Matt Haigh and I decided to go and see our new Top Project in Balaka, a new project aimed at addressing the needs of families affected by severe and worsening annual droughts. The project would be giving vulnerable families goats to breed and bringing them drought tolerant seeds and irrigation.

We met three people whom I photographed and interviewed, Zuze, Elizabeth and Madelena. Since returning, Madelena’s story has been chosen to feature in a cash pack – it went out to supporters last week. Pictured above, the pack tells the story of how Madelena is running out of food for her children, how she is cooking field mice to give them vital nutrition and how she is having to work as a manual labourer just to get by.

But it was Zuze who stuck with me most, and who I wrote about last week for an assignment for my creative writing course…

You can read Amy’s assignment right here.

