Things that make you go hmmm

A Creative Breakfast is a chance for the whole team to get together to talk about what’s going on outside Oxfam House.  As the name suggests, these meetings have creative leanings. But the breakfast thing is a bit of a red herring.  The last one was held on Thursday, at 3pm. We each brought along something that had recently made us stop and think, and then act. The most popular contributions, as voted by us, may surprise you. Take a look below…

71936scr

Janine picked this image of two children digging for gold in Burkina Faso, West Africa. She said: “When I first saw this picture it made me cry – a very basic response to the injustice it conveyed to me. I have two kids the same age. Their lives will be full of opportunity, whereas the children in this picture will be lucky to survive. To me, effective communication is about making a connection – however small or subliminal. People need to feel something before they act. We’re all lucky to have the lives we do. Realising this is the first step to action. This picture made me commit to the ridiculous challenge of Trailtrekker. If you want to sponsor me, please do!” Click to view Janine’s Just Giving page.

newsletter

Claire picked this story from a community newsletterShe said: “I picked this because despite the ‘old-school’ design, it worked – I signed the petition. It worked because it spelt out the need clearly and simply within the text and backed this up with the image. The fact that I’ve been there (albeit dragging a bike up, rather than a buggy) obviously helped, but I reckon I’d have signed regardless. PS you can still do a good thing for the people of South Oxford and sign it too!”

Both of these examples were the clear favourites of everyone at the Creative Breakast. It goes to show that people act when it matters to them. That simplicity and honesty are powerful. And that the right image is invaluable.

Honorable mentions go to the Bodyform video that did the rounds on Facebook, and Movember. The popularity of these campaigns suggest that fun is pretty motivating, too.

